Help Center
Click to Home

Go To Search

Planning Commission
The Planning Commission recommends to the City Council the land use policies of the City in the Comprehensive Plan. It also makes recommendations on applications for Special Use Permits, Special Exceptions, Subdivisions, Rezonings, and Development Code Text Amendments after it has conducted a public hearing.


  • Twice monthly (except no second meeting is held in November and December due to holidays).
    • Second Wednesday of each month for public hearings at 7:30 p.m. 
    • Last Wednesday of each month (as needed) at 7:30 p.m. 
  • Council Chambers
    City Hall
    715 Princess Anne St.
    Fredericksburg, VA 22401

Agendas & Minutes
Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval. 
Most Recent Agenda  |  View All Agendas and Minutes  |  Public Notices

Planning Commission Meeting Streaming
Live streaming available during meetings and archived meeting videos are also available.  View Meeting Stream

The Planning Commission consists of seven members appointed by the City Council, all of whom shall be residents of and freeholders in the City, qualified by knowledge and experience to make decisions on questions of community growth and development.

One member of the Planning Commission may be a member of the City Council, and one member may be a member of the administrative branch of government of the city, however, currently there is not a Planning Commission member from the City Council or government administration.

Planning Commission members serve a maximum of two 4-year terms. The current members and terms of the Planning Commission are:

         Chris Hornung - Chair
         1st Term:

          Kenneth D. Gantt - Vice Chair
          1st Term
           05/24/2016 - 10/31/2020
         Thomas O'Toole, Secretary
         1st Term:
         11/10/2015 - 10/31/2019

         James Beavers, Secretary
         Unexpired Term:


           Steven Slominski
           1st Term:

           James M. Pates
           2nd Term:

           Rene Rodriguez
           1st Term:
           11/01/2017 - 10/31/2021


Applications are submitted to the Community Planning and Building Department, Planning Services Division. Office hours are Monday through Friday, 8:15 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Filing deadlines are established to allow sufficient time to process applications and comply with public notification requirements. Public notices will appear in The Free Lance-Star.

The applicant or his or her representative must be present to answer questions from the Planning Commission at such hearings.

Unified Development Ordinance
The new Unified Development Ordinance was adopted by City Council on October 8, 2013.  All previous versions of the ordinance are obsolete.

Contact Us
Charles R. Johnston
Director of Community Planning &
Building Department

715 Princess Anne St.
Room 209
PO Box 7447
Fredericksburg VA, 22404

Ph: 540-372-1179
Fx: 540-372-6412

8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Monday - Friday