Fire Marshal

The purpose of The Fredericksburg Fire Marshal's Office is to provide a safe living and working environment for our residents, as well as the visitors to our city.


The Fire Marshal programs consist of enforcement of the Virginia Statewide Fire Prevention Code through fire inspections on all new and existing buildings, and investigations of all fires and environmental crimes. The Fire Marshal's Office is also responsible for the city's Lock Box Program, and the reviewing of site, fire protection, and suppression plans.

Fire Marshal History

The Fire Marshal's Office consists of the fire marshal and four deputy fire marshals. Since 1976 the Fredericksburg Fire Department has had three fire marshals.

Fire Marshal
Fire Marshal Alan Crisp2022 - Present
Fire Marshal J.V. Skinner2018 - 2022
Fire Marshal Parris Sachs
2011 - 2017
Fire Marshal Harold "Jay" Babcock
2008 - 2011
Fire Marshal John Nunnally
2006 - 2008
Fire Marshal Gerald Brown
1976 - 2006
Deputy Fire Marshal
Deputy Fire Marshal Logan Stanley2022 - Present
Deputy Fire Marshal Alan Crisp2018- 2022
Deputy Fire Marshal J.V. Skinner
2017- 2017
Deputy Fire Marshal Harold "Jay" Babcock
2006 - 2008
Deputy Fire Marshal John Nunnally
2005 - 2006
Deputy Fire Marshal Mark Bledsoe
2001 - 2012

Deputy Fire Marshals

  • A-Shift - Firefighter/Medic G. Athenry 
  • B-Shift - Fire Investigator B. Harris
  • C-Shift - Vacant