City Council

Council Members

The seven-member legislative body known as the City Council is composed of a Mayor and six council members. The Mayor and two Council members are elected at-large and the remaining four Council members are each elected to represent one of four wards.

Council members and the Mayor serve four-year, staggered terms with elections held every two years, in November.  In 2021 elections changed from a May election to a November election timeframe. Ward representatives were elected in November 2021 and Mayor and At-Large representatives were elected in November 2023. 


The Mayor and Council appoint a City Manager, City Attorney, and Clerk of Council:

  • As the chief administrative officer of the government, the Fredericksburg City Manager carries out policy set by Council and administers City programs. All department heads are hired by and are responsible to the City Manager.
  • The City Attorney provides legal assistance and opinions to the Council, City Manager, and other city departments. The Attorney is also responsible for drafting ordinances and maintaining the City Code.
  • The Clerk of Council is responsible for preparing and maintaining the official records of the City and serves as the administrative support to the legislative body.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
Most Recent Agenda | View All Agendas and Minutes


The City of Fredericksburg was established by the Virginia General Assembly in 1728, incorporated as a town in 1781, and incorporated as an independent city in 1879. Fredericksburg operates under the Council-Manager form of government adopted in 1912.

Council Meeting Streaming

Live streaming available during meetings and archived meeting videos are also available.

View Meeting Stream