Architectural Review Board

The Fredericksburg City Council has adopted a historic preservation ordinance to maintain the unique character of downtown Fredericksburg. The purpose of the Architectural Review Board is to maintain the historic and architectural integrity of designated historic areas.


  • Twice monthly
    • Second Monday of each month for public hearing at 7:00 p.m.
    • Fourth Monday of each month (as needed) at 7:00 p.m.
  • Council Chambers
    City Hall
    715 Princess Anne St.
    Fredericksburg, VA 22401
  • Electronically:  

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

Most Recent Agenda | View All Agendas and Minutes | Public Notices | 2024 Calendar

Architectural Review Board Meeting Streaming

Live streaming available during meetings and archived meeting videos are also available. View Meeting Stream


The Architectural Review Board is a panel of seven knowledgeable citizens appointed by the City Council to review submitted applications.

  • Adriana Moss, Chair, 2nd Term: 01/01/2024 - 12/31/2027
  • Helen Ross, Vice Chair, 1st Term: 01/01/2021 -12/31/2024
  • Laura Galke, 1st Term: 05/10/2021-12/23/2024
  • Karen Irvin, Chair, 2nd Term: 01/01/2022 - 12/31/2025
  • James Jarrell, 1st Term: 11/01/2021 – 10/31/2024
  • DD Lecky, 1st Term: 02/07/2022 – 01/31/2025
  • Kelly Penick, 1st Term: 02/07/2022 – 01/31/2025


The Historic District Ordinance requires that property owners within the district obtain a Certificate of Appropriateness from the Architectural Review Board before adding on or making exterior alterations to their buildings or for any new construction in the district. A certificate is also required for any signs.

Applications are submitted to the Community Planning and Building Department. Office hours are Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Filing deadlines are established to allow sufficient time to process applications and comply with public notification requirements. Public notices will appear in The Free Lance-Star.