Where to Obtain a License
- A marriage license may be obtained from the Office of the Clerk of Circuit Court in any city or county in Virginia.
How do we obtain our license from the Fredericksburg Clerk of Court?
- Come to the Clerk's office (701 Princess Anne Street) between 8:30am-4:00pm, Monday-Friday. Both parties must be present.
- Present current, valid government issued photo i.d. and $30.00 to Clerk.
- Fill out application using our in-office Marriage Kiosk.
- A Clerk will administer an Oath, confirming the truth of your information and that you will comply with related laws.
- You have your license. Congratulations and best wishes!
- Virginia has no wait period between a legal Divorce and marriage.
- Virginia has no wait period between the issuance of the marriage license and the ceremony.
- The license is good for 60 days from the date of issue and must be returned to the issuing office within 5 business days of the date of the ceremony.
- The Clerk of Court will charge a fee of $30 for issuing a marriage license. A statutory clerk's fee pursuant to Virginia Code 17.1-275 is collected for issuing a marriage license.
The $30 fee must be paid in cash, check or with a VISA or MASTER CARD debit/credit card. The service fee for charges $50.00 and under will be $2.00.