Help Center
Click to Home

Go To Search

Chief Nye Torch RunMessage from the Chief

"Welcome to the Fredericksburg Police Department. I invite you to learn more about us by reviewing our pages, calling us, or visiting us in person. The men and women of this department take great pride in serving this beautiful historic community.

The members of the Fredericksburg Police Department welcome the opportunity to make a difference in the lives of our neighbors and in our community. We are committed to developing people to serve as highly qualified and professional police officers who protect our citizens by providing traditional law enforcement services as well as leading our community to engage in finding solutions to shared concerns.

I am proud of the men and women of this department who have embraced the responsibility of service and leadership with integrity and conviction."

                                                                          Chief David Nye

Our Mission

"Serve. Protect. Inspire."
The mission of the Fredericksburg Police Department is to protect the right of all citizens to live in peace and safety by enforcing the law and maintaining social order, and by protecting property from unlawful destruction and theft. The department seeks to enhance the quality of life in our city through problem solving strategies and community partnerships. 

Law Enforcement

The Fredericksburg Police Department provides proactive enforcement of state and city criminal and traffic laws within the jurisdiction of our municipal boundaries.  To learn more about patrol officers and community policing, go here.  The city is divided into zones or "beats" for the purpose of patrol assignments.  See the city patrol zones here

The Fredericksburg Police Department is a nationally accredited agency through the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies.

Contact Us
David W. Nye
Chief of Police

2200 Cowan Blvd.
Fredericksburg, VA 22401

Ph: 540-373-3122
Emergency - Call 911

24 / 7

Records and Administration
8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Monday - Friday